Ahead of their crucial 2026 World Cup qualifiers against South Africa and Benin Republic, Super Eagles held their first full training session in Uyo on Sunday as more invited players arrived in camp.

The Eagles are scheduled to host Bafana Bafana at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium in Uyo on June 7 before travelling to Ivory Coast where they face the Squirrels three days later.

In preparation for the games, head coach Finidi George invited 23 Eagles stars, with the return of Maduka Okoye headlining the list of invited players.

The team’s camp officially opened on Friday in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State with the Eagles lodged at the Ibom Golf Resort Hotel, the same base they used during their successful qualification for the 2018 World Cup.

Nigeria Premier Football League trio Sodiq Ismail, Kenneth Igboke, who was called up to replace injured Victor Osimhen and Enyimba goalkeeper Ojo Olorunleke, Tanzania-based Benjamin Tanimu, Ibrahim Olawoyin, Chippa United goalkeeper Stanley Nwabali, Wilfred Ndidi who has been in the country for a while and Fisayo Dele-Bashiru were the early birds in the Eagles camp.

AC Milan forward, Samuel Chukwueze also arrived camp on Saturday despite concerns about his fitness. The 24-year-old picked up an injury during the Rossoneri’s Serie A fixture against Cagliari on May 11. Subsequently, he missed Milan’s last two Serie A matches against Torino and Salernitana.

Early Sunday morning, they were joined by Bayer Leverkusen forward Victor Boniface and Club Brugge midfielder Raphael Onyedika, bringing the total to 13 players.

Following gym work and other light training sessions, the team had their first training on Sunday morning at the Nest of Champions training pitch under the supervision of Finidi and his assistants.

15 players took part in the evening training session on Sunday.

Nigeria are currently third in Group C with two points from two matches, trailing leaders Rwanda by two points and South Africa by one. The group winner after 10 matches will qualify for the 2026 FIFA World Cup, hosted by the USA, Canada, and Mexico.